The project

Pablo VALBUENA - Gyrotope

Gyrotope is a large circle made up of columns, a sculpture that reveals itself over time. The artwork plays with intangible and fleeting effects, like light and sound, to offer an experience based on the perception of movement. It uses in a space the principle of film, a succession of shots that, all together make up a unique sequence. It transports the public into a virtual space-time whilst also keeping the physical and tangible connexions of the body to its environment.

Gyrotope works like a perimeter one could cross. The artwork creates a modular experience of scale. It is at once an object and an environment depending on our point of view; from the inside, the outside, or even on its edges.
Pablo Valbuena

Commissioned by the Société du Grand Paris in 2016, Gyrotope recalls with its shape the curve of the future 15 Line. It was presented for the first time on the occasion of KM1, in Clamart on the 4th of June 2016, for the launch of the first Grand Paris Express construction site, then during Nuit Blanche in Brussels on the 1st of October 2016 in front of the European Parliament. The artwork, which was also shown in Saint-Denis and Saint-Ouen on the occasion of KM4 on the 20th of October 2018, continues moving.
Artist

Pablo Valbuena

L’œuvre

Gyrotope

Gyrotope est un large cercle constitué de colonnes, une sculpture qui se déplie avec le temps. L'œuvre joue d'effets intangibles et éphémères, comme la lumière et le son, pour proposer une expérience fondée sur la perception du mouvement. Elle reprend dans l'espace le principe du film, une succession de plans qui, enchaînés, forment une séquence unique Elle transporte le public dans un espace-temps virtuel tout en maintenant les liens physiques et tangibles du corps à son environnement.

Gyrotope fonctionne à la manière d'un périmètre que l'on pourrait traverser. L'œuvre crée une expérience modulable de l'échelle. Elle est à la fois un objet et un environnement en fonction du point de vue que l'on adopte ; de l'intérieur, de l'extérieur ou même sur les bords.
Pablo Valbuena

Commandée par la Société du Grand Paris en 2016, Gyrotope évoque par sa forme, la courbe de la future ligne 15. Présentée pour la première fois lors de KM1, à Clamart le 4 juin 2016, à l'occasion du lancement du premier chantier du Grand Paris Express, puis à l'occasion de Nuit Blanche Bruxelles, le 1er octobre 2016, devant le Parlement européen. L'œuvre, également vue à Saint-Denis et Saint-Ouen lors du KM4 le 20 octobre 2018, poursuit sa vie.
L'artiste

Pablo Valbuena